GOVERNMENT OF THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA OFFICE OF THE INSPECTOR GENERAL

COMPREHENSIVE ANNUAL FINANCIAL REPORT OF THE GOVERNMENT OF THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA FOR THE FISCAL YEAR ENDED SEPTEMBER 30, 2013



CHARLES J. WILLOUGHBY INSPECTOR GENERAL

GOVERNMENT OF THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA Office of the Inspector General

Inspector General



February 3, 2014

SUBJECT: Issuance of the Comprehensive Annual Financial Report of

the Government of the District of Columbia (District) for the fiscal year ended September 30, 2013 (OIG No. 14-1-03MA)

On January 30, 2014, as part of the Comprehensive Annual Financial Report (CAFR), KPMG LLP issued its opinion on the District of Columbia's (District) financial statements for the fiscal year ended September 30, 2013. The financial statements, received an unqualified or "clean" opinion from KPMG LLP. This is the 17th consecutive year the District has earned an unqualified audit opinion.

The CAFR report is available via a link on the Office of the Inspector General's website: http://oig.dc.gov.

If you have questions or desire additional information, please contact Ronald W. King, Assistant Inspector General for Audits, at the number below.

Charles J. Willoughby

Inspector General

CJW/ws

See Distribution List cc:

DISTRIBUTION:

The Honorable Vincent C. Gray, Mayor, District of Columbia

Mr. Allen Y. Lew, City Administrator, District of Columbia (via email)

Mr. Victor L. Hoskins, Deputy Mayor for Planning and Economic Development, District of Columbia (via email)

The Honorable Phil Mendelson, Chairman, Council of the District of Columbia (via email)

The Honorable Kenyan R. McDuffie, Chairperson, Committee on Government Operations, Council of the District of Columbia (via email)

The Honorable Mary M. Cheh, Chairperson, Committee on Transportation and the Environment (via email)

Mr. Brian Flowers, General Counsel to the Mayor (via email)

Mr. Christopher Murphy, Chief of Staff, Office of the Mayor (via email)

Ms. Janene Jackson, Director, Office of Policy and Legislative Affairs (via email)

Mr. Pedro Ribeiro, Director, Office of Communications, (via email)

Mr. Eric Goulet, Budget Director, Mayor's Office of Budget and Finance

Ms. Nyasha Smith, Secretary to the Council (1 copy and via email)

Mr. Irvin B. Nathan, Attorney General for the District of Columbia (via email)

Mr. Jeffrey DeWitt, Chief Financial Officer, Office of the Chief Financial Officer (1 copy and via email)

Mr. Mohamad Yusuff, Interim Executive Director, Office of Integrity and Oversight, Office of the Chief Financial Officer (via email)

Mr. Lawrence Perry, Deputy D.C. Auditor

Mr. Phillip Lattimore, Director and Chief Risk Officer, Office of Risk Management (via email)

Mr. Steve Sebastian, Managing Director, FMA, GAO, (via email)

The Honorable Eleanor Holmes Norton, D.C. Delegate, House of Representatives, Attention: Bradley Truding (via email)

The Honorable Darrell Issa, Chairman, House Committee on Oversight and Government Reform, Attention: Howie Denis (via email)

The Honorable Elijah Cummings, Ranking Member, House Committee on Oversight and Government Reform, Attention: Yvette Cravins (via email)

The Honorable Thomas Carper, Chairman, Senate Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs, Attention: Holly Idelson (via email)

The Honorable Tom Coburn, Ranking Member, Senate Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs, Attention: Katie Bailey (via email)

The Honorable Mark Begich, Chairman, Senate Subcommittee on Emergency Management, Intergovernmental Relations and the District of Columbia, Attention: Cory Turner (via email)

The Honorable Rand Paul, Ranking Member, Senate Subcommittee on Emergency Management, Intergovernmental Relations and the District of Columbia

The Honorable Harold Rogers, Chairman, House Committee on Appropriations,

Attention: Amy Cushing (via email)

Issuance of FY 2013 CAFR Report OIG No. 14-1-03MA February 3, 2014 Page 3 of 3

- The Honorable Nita Lowey, Ranking Member, House Committee on Appropriations, Attention: Laura Hogshead (via email)
- The Honorable Ander Crenshaw, Chairman, House Subcommittee on Financial Services and General Government, Attention: Amy Cushing (via email)
- The Honorable José E. Serrano, Ranking Member, House Subcommittee on Financial Services and General Government, Attention: Laura Hogshead (via email)
- The Honorable Barbara Mikulski, Chairwoman, Senate Committee on Appropriations, Attention: Ericka Rojas (via email)
- The Honorable Richard Shelby, Ranking Member, Senate Committee on Appropriations, Attention: Dana Wade (via email)
- The Honorable Tom Udall, Chairman, Senate Subcommittee on Financial Services and General Government, Attention: Marianne Upton (via email)
- The Honorable Mike Johanns, Ranking Member, Senate Subcommittee on Financial Services and General Government, Attention: Dale Cabaniss (via email)
- Mr. Paul Geraty, CPA, Public Sector Audit Division KPMG LLP (1 copy)