

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA | OFFICE OF THE INSPECTOR GENERAL

February 23, 2024

Aaron Myers Director DC Commission on the Arts and Humanities 200 I Street SE, Suite 1400 Washington, DC 20003

Subject: DC Commission on the Arts and Humanities Grant Program | 24-E-03-BX0

Dear Director Myers:

The Office of the Inspector General (OIG) is initiating an evaluation of the DC Commission on the Arts and Humanities (CAH) Grant Program. We will perform this evaluation in accordance with the *Quality Standards for Inspection and Evaluation*, issued by the Council of Inspectors General on Integrity and Efficiency, and the *Standards for Internal Control in the Federal Government*, issued by the U.S. Government Accountability Office. Yulanda Gaither, Assistant Inspector General for Inspections and Evaluations, will coordinate an entrance conference to discuss the evaluation process and answer any questions.

The objectives of this evaluation are to:

- (1) review executed grants for vulnerabilities to corruption, fraud, waste, abuse, and mismanagement; and
- (2) assess whether grant program requirements are effectively operationalized to ensure the District is receiving maximum benefits.

This evaluation is included in our <u>Fiscal Year 2024 Audit and Inspection Plan</u> and will be conducted under project number **24-E-03-BX0**. Please refer to this project number in all related correspondence. If you have any immediate questions or concerns you may contact me or Ms. Gaither at 202-727-9029.

Sincerely.

Daniel W. Lucas Inspector General

DWL/yg

DISTRIBUTION LIST

The Honorable Muriel Bowser, Mayor, District of Columbia

Attention: Mr. Michael Porcello, Deputy General Counsel to the Mayor, and Ms. Erika Satterlee, Deputy General Counsel to the Mayor

Mr. Kevin Donahue, City Administrator of the District of Columbia

Mr. Barry Kreiswirth, Chief Counsel and Senior Policy Advisor Office of the City Administrator, District of Columbia

The Honorable Phil Mendelson, Chair Council of the District of Columbia

The Honorable Kenyan R. McDuffie, Chair Pro Tempore Council of the District of Columbia

The Honorable Anita Bonds, At-Large Councilmember Council of the District of Columbia

The Honorable Christina Henderson, At-Large Councilmember Council of the District of Columbia

The Honorable Robert C. White, Jr., At-Large Councilmember Council of the District of Columbia

The Honorable Brianne K. Nadeau, Ward 1 Councilmember Council of the District of Columbia

The Honorable Brooke Pinto, Ward 2 Councilmember Council of the District of Columbia

The Honorable Matthew Frumin, Ward 3 Councilmember Council of the District of Columbia

The Honorable Janeese Lewis George, Ward 4 Councilmember Council of the District of Columbia

The Honorable Zachary Parker, Ward 5 Councilmember Council of the District of Columbia

The Honorable Charles Allen, Ward 6 Councilmember Council of the District of Columbia

The Honorable Vincent C. Gray, Ward 7 Councilmember Council of the District of Columbia

The Honorable Trayon White, Sr., Ward 8 Councilmember Council of the District of Columbia

The Honorable Kathy Patterson, D.C. Auditor Office of the District of Columbia Auditor