

## DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA | OFFICE OF THE INSPECTOR GENERAL

November 15, 2023

Kevin Donahue City Administrator Office of the City Administrator The John A. Wilson Building 1350 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Suite 513 Washington, DC 20004

Glen Lee Chief Financial Officer Office of the Chief Financial Officer The John A. Wilson Building 1350 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Suite 203 Washington, DC 20024

Dr. Christina Grant State Superintendent of Education Office of the State Superintendent of Education 1050 First Street NE Washington, DC 20002

Subject: Postponement of OIG's CRRSA Evaluation

Dear Administrator Donahue, Chief Financial Officer Lee, and State Superintendent Grant:

We are postponing our evaluation of the District of Columbia Government's compliance with the *Coronavirus Response and Relief Supplemental Appropriations Act* of 2021 (CRRSA), Pub. L. No. 116-260, 134 Stat. 1909 (2020). The objectives of the evaluation were to determine whether the Education Stabilization-funded projects from the Department of Education Formula Grant, S425U210034, as distributed to District agencies by the City Administrator, Chief Financial Officer, and State Superintendent:

- 1) comply with the allowable activities for the federal assistance listing 84.425D (Education Stabilization Fund) under Pub. L. 116-260;
- 2) comply with equity measures for programs with particular recipient populations;

- 3) submit audit and performance reports according to the timelines and standards outlined in Pub. L. 116-260; and
- 4) fulfill the requirements to identify key roles and responsibilities, points of contact, and management leaders for federal recovery-funded programs.

We anticipate resuming this evaluation in 2024. I will contact you when we have a firm date. If you need additional information, please call me or Yulanda Gaither, Assistant Inspector General for Inspections and Evaluations, at (202) 727–9029.

Sincerely,

Marie Hart

for Daniel W. Lucas Inspector General

DWL/yg

See Distribution List

## **DISTRIBUTION LIST**

Lea Crusey, Chair, DC Public Charter School Board

Dr. Lewis D. Ferebee, Chancellor DC Public Schools

The Honorable Phil Mendelson, Chairman Council of the District of Columbia

The Honorable Kenyan R. McDuffie, Chair Pro Tempore Council of the District of Columbia

The Honorable Anita Bonds, Councilmember At-Large Council of the District of Columbia

The Honorable Christina Henderson, Councilmember At-Large Council of the District of Columbia

The Honorable Robert C. White, Jr., Councilmember At-Large Council of the District of Columbia

- The Honorable Brianne K. Nadeau, Ward 1 Councilmember Council of the District of Columbia
- The Honorable Brooke Pinto, Ward 2 Councilmember Council of the District of Columbia
- The Honorable Matthew Frumin, Ward 3 Councilmember Council of the District of Columbia
- The Honorable Janeese Lewis George, Ward 4 Councilmember Council of the District of Columbia
- The Honorable Zachary Parker, Ward 5 Councilmember Council of the District of Columbia
- The Honorable Charles Allen, Ward 6 Councilmember Council of the District of Columbia
- The Honorable Vincent C. Gray, Ward 7 Councilmember Council of the District of Columbia
- The Honorable Trayon White, Sr., Ward 8 Councilmember Council of the District of Columbia
- The Honorable Kathy Patterson, DC Auditor
  Office of the DC Auditor