Office of the Inspector General

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

OIG: Organizational Structure

The OIG is comprised of four units – the Audits Unit, the Investigations Unit, the Inspections and Evaluations Unit, and the Medicaid Fraud Control Unit.

Select the unit title to view relevant documents.

The Audits Unit audits District organizations, programs, functions, and activities. Audits provide management with an independent appraisal of whether desired results and objectives are achieved efficiently, economically, and in accordance with prescribed laws, regulations, policies, and procedures. The Unit performs financial, performance and attestation audits.

The Investigations Unit investigates allegations of misconduct by DC government employees, contractors, and financial assistance recipients, which may involve violations of DC or federal criminal law, civil statutes, DC regulations, or employee standards of conduct. Investigations Unit reports may include findings and recommendations regarding program weaknesses, contracting irregularities, and other institutional problems that are discovered as a result of complaints or investigations initiated by the OIG.

The Inspections and Evaluations (I&E) Unit conducts inspections that provide decision makers with objective, thorough, and timely evaluations of DC government agencies and programs. I&E reports contain findings and recommendations that can help District officials achieve efficiency, effectiveness, economy, and safety in managing day-to-day operations and personnel. I&E goals are to: help ensure compliance with applicable laws, regulations, and policies; identify accountability; recognize excellence; and promote continuous improvement in the delivery of services to DC residents, workers, and visitors.

For a graphic representation, view the Organization Chart or Key Personnel.